Game Pickup: Sunset Riders

It’s been a while, I’ve been busy! This means I have quite a few arcade related things I’ve picked up over the last few years that I have yet to explore and enjoy. First on the backlog is this little beauty of a game. Sunset Riders (Konami 1991).

I first came across this title when on holiday in Scarborough in 1992. The hotel myself and the family were staying had this and Streetfighter 2 in the Rec room on standard “electrocoin” cabs. I LOVED this game. Myself and my brother pumped in a lot of 30p credits over the 2 weeks we stayed (actualyl played this more than the pool tables, which was a first). It’s just so fun, addictive and (for an arcade game) really quite fair! You messed up? It was because of YOU. The difficulty was really in the boss fights as they could eat lives away very quickly indeed. Anyways, after many years of looking for a board at a sensible price, I found one.

JAMMA Goodness

Can you spot why this was a deal? Top right of the board there are some custom all in one chips that are broken (two of them shattared). I beleieved these were the resistor / capacitor arrays for the input. Because the listing for this stated that it had the 2 player ROM set onboard I BELIEVED the broken elements to be part of the player 3/4 input array (look down and there’s another identical set). Thankfully, I was right. When I bough this (a long time ago now) these were impossible to source without a donor board. Thankfully, now someone has made so compatible parts as, apparently, these fail.. a lot…. So I’ve ordered some of those and will replace in due time. But, with this board it has no effect. Everything plays great.

I did a quick video (below) of the boot sequence and the attract demo. May capture some gameplay video later as well.

How does this hold up in 2022? Actually, it’s still fun! It’s not as brutal as I remember it (I was only 12) and I’m sure it’s a candidate for 1CC at some point… Glad I have it though…. memories!

About Alec Dunn (LegoYoda)

Alec is an IT Architect focused around large private / hybrid cloud design and automation. He's also a big fan of the 'arcade' culture and games of yesteryear and loves taking things apart to see how they all work.
This entry was posted in Arcade, Games, retro, Software and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment